Skip to main content

"Take Me Out to the Ball Game"

The Lewes Vintage Base Ball Club begins the season April 1!
The Lewes Historical Society is proud to be the home of the Lewes Vintage Base Ball Club, a vintage ball club participating in the Mid Atlantic Vintage Base Ball League and a member of the Vintage Base Ball Association. The club plays its home matches at the University of Delaware Lewes campus near the Virden Conference Center grounds at 700 Pilottown Road.

 

The earliest known reference to date of baseball in Lewes is from February 1874 when a match pitting Lewes against Milton was advertised for March 1, 1874. Unfortunately the outcome of that contest is not known. Lewes played home to a member of the Eastern Shore Baseball League in the early and mid 20th century.

 

The Lewes Vintage Base Ball Club plays by 1864 rules which have several differences from contemporary baseball, the most notable being the ability to catch the ball on one bounce for an out and no gloves permitted for fielders. Additionally, pitchers throw underhand; batters are called strikers; strikes are called when a striker does not attempt to swing the bat after a warning from the umpire; and foul balls can be caught on the bounce for an out.

 

“Being the third year for the Lewes Vintage Base Ball Club, we have a good grasp on the rules, more practice under our belts and we are excited for the outcome of the season. We look forward to having our fans in the stands cheering us on,” said Mike DiPaolo, executive director of the historical society.

 

Interested in trying out for the ol' ball club? Email Mike DiPaolo at [email protected] or call 302-645-7670.

 

Want to be a spectator of the games? Come cheer on the Lewes Vintage Base Ball Club!

 

2012 Schedule: (All games begin at 1:00pm)

 

APRIL

Sunday 4/1/12         vs. Delaware Diamond States

Sunday 4/22/12        vs. Chesapeake City Cecils

Sunday 4/29/12        @ Philadelphia Athletics

 

MAY

Sunday 5/6/12        vs. Philadelphia Athletics

Saturday 5/12/12     vs. Elkton Eclipse

 

JUNE

Sunday 6/3/12        @ Elkton Eclipse

 

JULY

Sunday 7/1/12        vs. Talbot Fairplays

 

AUGUST

Sunday 8/19/12        @ Chesapeake City Cecils

Saturday 8/25/12    @ Delaware Diamond States 1pm; vs. NY Mutuals at 11am

 

SEPTEMBER

Saturday 9/15/12 &

Sunday 9/16/12        @ Philadelphia Vintage Base Ball Festival

 

OCTOBER

Saturday 10/13/12 &

Sunday 10/14/12        Mid-Atlantic VBBL Championship Tournament (top 6 teams)

|