Skip to main content



March 20th 2019: The Board of Trustees of the Lewes Historical Society announced today that its Executive Director, Mr. Michael DiPaolo, is leaving the Society. Mr. DiPaolo has been the Executive Director of the Society for the past 17 years. During this time Mr. DiPaolo has overseen the expansion of the Society in several key areas including the recent completion of the Lewes History Museum and the Children’s Discovery Center. The Board thanks Michael for his many years of service to the Society and wishes him success in his future endeavors.

Executive Director: ...Vacant (Please see Employment Opportunities)
Director of Education: Marcos Salaverria
Director of Development: Michael Whitehouse
Director of Operations and Administration: Charles A. Beaverson
Director of Buildings & Grounds: Timothy Delp
Events Coordinator: Judi Jeffers
Marketing & Communications Coordinator: Nancy LaMotte
Office Administrator: Carolann Wolansky
Bookkeeper: Jim Little
Lewes History Museum Coordinator: Andrew Lyter
Museum Store Manager: Suzanne Jones
Facilities & Grounds Assistant: Michael Schupp
Museum Attendants: Abigail Davis, Debra Regan, Alan Jensen


Elizabeth Owen, Chair
Stan Divorski, Vice Chair
Bernard J. Clark, M.D., Secretary
William Roeder, Treasurer
Richard Claypoole
Ilona Holland, Ed.D.
Kenneth Kehrer, Ph.D.
Terri Lottmann
Harold W.T. Purnell, II, Esq.
Preston Schell
Barbara Warnell
Richard Weissmann

Immediate Past Chair
Don Matzkin

Trustees Emeriti
F. Rogers Jones